NEDA Walk

Standard

NEDA_TSHIRT_PRINTER

Hey Hi Hello!

As many of you know, this past year I spent 3 months at Remuda Ranch Treatment Center to treat my Anorexia Nervosa. With every pound I lost, I lost a sense of myself. I never expected Anorexia to take away as much as it did. I was told when I went to college that these were the best years of my life, little did I know that a large majority of my college years would be spent in isolation, counting calories and spending every moment hating myself, truly believing that the only way I could escape this hell was if I lost weight. Remuda Ranch and the Renfrew Center were the places that changed my life. I don’t know where I would be if I didn’t receive treatment and I am so thankful that I was given that opportunity.Through their guidance and hard work, I am back at my university and back on track to graduate. I am so incredibly grateful to have my life back and I owe it all to those who have supported me and the treatment I’ve received.
There are millions of men and women who are not as fortunate as I was. 30 million men and women will suffer from a clinically significant eating disorder during their lifetime. Only 10% of people who suffer from Eating Disorders get the treatment that they need and 35% of people that receive treatment for eating disorders get treatment at a specialized facility for eating disorders. I have seen where this disease can take you and it is truly heartbreaking knowing that this year, many men and women will die from their Eating Disorder because they did not have the opportunity to seek the correct treatment.
I recently accepted the challenge of participating in a NEDA Walk benefiting the National Eating Disorders Association.  NEDA is a non-profit organization dedicated to supporting individuals and families affected by eating disorders. The NEDA Walk, which launched during NEDAwareness Week in 2009, is a fundraiser supporting NEDA and a community awareness-raising event. Individuals from across the country will be coordinating a NEDA Walk in their communities throughout the year. The NEDA Walk is a non-competitive community event and was developed so that registrants can participate in whatever capacity they feel is appropriate for them.
Proceeds support critical programs and services that work to eliminate eating disorders and improve prevention, treatment, and research. NEDA helps making treatment accessible to all and with your help, you can make a difference in the life of a person who is suffering. I am asking you to help by supporting my fundraising efforts with a donation.  Your tax-deductible gift will make a difference in the lives of many! It is faster and easier than ever to support this great cause  you can make your donation online by simply clicking on the link at the bottom of this message.

Leave a Reply

